Belgrade (Beograd / Београд, meaning “white city”) is the capital and largest city of Serbia. It is located at the confluence of the Sava and Danube rivers, where the Pannonian Plain meets the Balkans. The urban area of the City of Belgrade has a population of 1.23 million, while nearly 1.7 million people live within its administrative limits.

The city is divided into 17 municipalities. Most of the municipalities are situated on the southern side of the Danube and Sava rivers, in the Šumadija region. Three municipalities (Zemun, Novi Beograd (“New Belgrade”), and Surčin), are on the northern bank of the Sava, in the Syrmia region, and the municipality of Palilula, spanning the Danube, is in both the Šumadija and Banat regions.


Country Republic of Serbia
Municipalities 17
Establishment Prior to 279 B.C. (Singidunum)
Area 359.96 km2
Population 1,683,962


Belgrade has become an increasingly popular tourist destination in recent years. A multitude of cultural monuments, museums, good food restaurants… are just a part you can visit.

Here we will list several things you should not miss if you visit Belgrade.

  • The Temple of Saint Sava
  • Knez Mihailova Street
  • Skadarlija Street
  • The Gardoš Tower
  • Belgrade Fortress
  • The Royal Palace
  • Nikola Tesla Museum
© Copyright 2018 Ziveli Tours Development by GridPoint